The Candlemakers Daughter

ybw

I had just received my Nikon bridge camera as a birthday present from my parents and also just joined Oxford Photographic Society with not much of an idea how to use it but loads of enthusiasm. I am still learning now it never ever gets boring. A group of us from The Rotary Club of Oxford Spires were a few days later off to Telford for our district conference and we had decided to make a long weekend out of it and went to visit the Blist’s Hill Victorian Museum a whole town where it feels like you go back in time and I was in my element, totally in my element.

https://www.photocrowd.com/images/84856.5e9e28533/

Deborah Axtell The Candlemakers Daughter commendation photcrowd by professional judge

We came across the candlemakers and it was so interesting the room was lit by candlelight and it seemed enough for my camera so I asked the lady in the portrait if I could take her picture which  she very kindly agreed to and this stunning picture was the result. I then entered a competition on Photocrowd not expecting anything to happen, so you could have knocked me down with a feather at getting such a commendation from the expert judge. I was and still am delighted. The print was then framed and went into the Oxford Photographic Societies annual exhibition in Summertown and now hangs on my stair wall, every time I look at it I see something different. The play of light on the bath of wax and the warm glow of candles on her face just makes me smile. I also sent her a copy of the image.

It is also available as a print for sale until the end of December

 https://www.photocrowd.com/shop/products/84856.5e9e28533/

Best wishes

D

Leave a Reply

